No-Life X Life Arc 1 Chapter 1

I wanted to have some kind of opening or introductory sentence, but I can’t think of any, so let’s just say I like the author’s other work and thought that this one too needs some attention.

I had asked the author’s permission and they gave me an OK.

What is this about? Well, it’s about the world of magic through the eyes of a ghost, I think. The author took three arcs for exposition and world buildings, about 70 chapters,  so please stay tuned and brace yourselves for walls of texts.

Well then


Arc 1 The Birth of the Undeath

一話 死亡、転生

Chapter 1 Death, Reincarnation

It was such a common life, one that you can encounter everywhere.

Although my Mother got riled into a new cult, my parents divorced, and I had to undergo surgery because a truck hit me, we had no difficulties with money. I made myself some close friends and I always scored a grade above average. I was no victim of domestic violence either.

Having gone through a bit of unique experience in life, I had some insights when I was in High School.

Being born not in a conflicted land but in this peaceful and affluent Japan, the country where you can’t ask for more convenience, in itself was like winning the million dollar ticket. Neither traffic accident nor divorce was a rare incident. Rather, I should be grateful to my environment that allowed me to climb to University with perfectly good health.

…Though I said so, I didn’t devote myself to study hard nor did I chase a youthful dream to be a sportsman. I just studied moderately, played moderately, aimed at some moderate universities, and be satisfied when the mock exam’s result allowed me to go into my secondary option.

I think it happened because I essentially didn’t have any crisis management. Both the surgery and my parents’ divorce didn’t leave any scar in my life, I just lived it with my own pace.

I wasn’t that poor in personality that people said I had no character. I didn’t have the leadership to pull along my classmates either.

If you ask my classmate what is their impression of me, they most likely would answer; “He’s good at Modern Japan,” or “He can jump pretty far,” or “He often misses some notes when we’re on Karaoke.”

An ordinary student without anything to write home about, just a bit different life experience than the average Japanese High Schooler. That was me.

.

.

.

That was me.

.

.

.

I was hit by a truck three days before the entrance exam for the university and ended up in the hospital.

Fortunately, it only resulted in bone fractures on both of my arms and nothing more, so I and my dad accepted the young truck driver’s earnest apology without hard feelings. Of course, we also received the compensation money suitably.

“What a disaster,” said my friend on his visit as he joked how loved I was by the trucks that I got hit twice by them. When I thought that I still could attend the entrance exam next year, I had mixed feelings of relief and frustration.

However, immediately on the second night in the hospital, I woke up to the breath on my neck from a woman with disheveled hair that leaned towards me.

Eh, what, a nurse is “night visiting” me? Isn’t that from Eroge?

「It’s all your fault… it’s all your fault than Shunya is fired from his company! Why did you do that to him!?」

Ah, so I was wrong. There isn’t any nurse who holds a knife with bloodshot eyes, in the first place.

Surprisingly, I was calm enough to try pressing the nurse call button. I presume she was either the truck driver’s lover, wife, or sister, but she was still not on her right mind no matter how I tried to justify her action. However, my hand was firmly fixed to the cast and couldn’t be moved well. By the time it almost reached the button, the woman’s eyes jolted then she struck my arm with the knife’s handle. The still fresh-from-the-surgery bones shrieked. Naturally, screams erupted from my mouth. Pain? I even thought my arm just exploded!

Perhaps my screams substituted the nurse button, as the hall outside my chamber suddenly became noisy. The woman clicked her tongue, annoyed.

Just when I endured the tears of the fierce pain I felt from a narrow escape from death, my eyes captured the sight of that woman holding her knife above my head. Apparently, even my life wasn’t pardoned.

「O, onee-san, calm do— OUCH!! AAAARRGGHH!!」

「YOU HAVE NO RIGHT TO CALL ME ONEEE-SAAAAAAAAAAANN!!!!」

「WA—, HOL—」

Splat.

The knife had penetrated my neck.

To think such a retarded story actually existed.

Without being able to see the memories of my life, the kitchen knife was raised before it led me to the last of my breath. 

Well, seeing from the result alone, I got reincarnated. Into a backwater village that clearly isn’t Japan, at that.

Though, you see, I completely don’t believe in the circle of transmigration. I mean, the occultic religion my mom fell into was all about, like, the life after death~ or, cleanse your soul~ or, extra-dimensional wave is coming out from your palm~ or whatever-have-them so I just categorize the circle of transmigration (lol) the same as the rest of it. Can’t be helped if I’ve had reincarnated.

Maybe I’m just having a delusion of being reincarnated and the current owner of this baby-body is having an eighteen-years dream of a Japanese High School student, or maybe I’m just possessing this newborn baby.

It’s not clear about that department, and they did say “I think therefore I am”, so I just put it off as being reincarnated.

…Now then, let’s stop running away from reality and get back to the breastfeeding.

Translator: Mabbo
Editor: Schwarz13

2 tanggapan untuk “No-Life X Life Arc 1 Chapter 1

Tinggalkan komentar